17 Sustainable Development Goals to replace Millennium Development Goals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ahead of the 2015 UN Sustainable Development Summit, The United Nations have unveiled seventeen new Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that will apply to all member states.

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) set at the conference in 2000 are set to expire at by end of 2015. At this year’s UN Sustainable development summit in New York, the 193 member states will adopt 17 new development goals that aim to eradicate poverty while encouraging sustainable development on a global scale and safeguarding the health of planet earth.

There are however contentious nations for whom the 17 SDGs will bear a resounding impact. The last set of MDGs has seen China quickly shift its development status from developed to a highly development nation. While while in the Middle East, high tension conflicts have exacerbated causing instability and regressive social growth and increased poverty rates. Currently, there are millions emigrating from the Middle East including many Syrian refugees fleeing to seek asylum.

The 17 sustainable development goals will be added to the world agenda at a global summit just before the annual gathering of world leaders at the UN general assembly.

The United Nations summit for the adoption the new development agenda for 2015 and beyond will be held from 25 to 27 September 2015, in New York. This conference will be convened as a high-level plenary meeting of the General Assembly.

17 New Development Goals 

1. End poverty in all its forms everywhere

2. End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture 

3. Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages 

4. Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all 

5. Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls 

6. Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all 

7. Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all 

8. Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all 

9. Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization, and foster innovation 

10. Reduce inequality within and among countries 

11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable 

12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns 

13. Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts 

14. Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development 

15. Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification and halt and reverse land degradation, and halt biodiversity loss 

16. Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels 

17. Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s